I need help with some basic hex editing in Generation 5

MackanK

I have tried to change or replace items in the BW/B2W2 games, both items that can be found in the overworld and those given by NPCs. I have no previous experience with hex editing but I have done my best going through this forum and trying to grasp what I need to know to be able to do this.

The problem I have now is that I cannot find the hex numbers for the various items within the script files for the various maps. If I open the script for a certain location, for example, Route 2 in Black and White, which is not too complicated but contains examples of various things, then there are both items on the ground and a scripted one at the beginning. 

Looking at this page: List of items by index number (Generation V) ... I can find the hex values for the items in the games, and I know that Route 2 is script file 319 in B/W. The problem is that I am unable to find the hex values for any of the items within the script code. I have looked through many, many different threads here trying to find out what I am doing wrong but without success.

Could someone here who has experience with this kind of editing tell me what I am missing, where the hex numbers for the items can be found and if there is anything else I have misunderstood?

Thanks in advance, I would be very grateful for any help.

4 hours ago, MackanK said:

The problem is that I am unable to find the hex values for any of the items within the script code.

Are you looking for items given by NPCs as part of a script event (not after battle), or ground items (ball/hidden)?

Ground items are scripted in a single file if I recall correctly (one of the script files at the end).

Thanks for the reply.

21 minutes ago, Kaphotics said:

Are you looking for items given by NPCs as part of a script event (not after battle), or ground items (ball/hidden)?