Help importing save into my game

So uh, i'm really new to this. I installed Homebrew and PkHex earlier this afternoon and decided to try it out. I'm hoping that i'm missing something and I haven't installed it wrong or anything.

Anyway, i'm trying to implement a Gardevoir, a Marshadow, and a Zeraora.
The Gardevoir is legal, but the Marshadow and the Zeraora are illegal due to their meeting place being invalid, though I tried removing the illegal Pokemon and it still did not save.

I'm on version 11.10.0, and try and put my Gardevior into my box, using the set button. After I do that, i press export data and replace my "main" file with the new one. When I enter the game, however, nothing has changed. When I re-open PkHex, all the changes are still there. I am using Ultra Moon.
Do I need extra software, such as F.B.I? Am I saving incorrectly? Is it my console?
Anyway, I would appreaciate some help regarding this matter, as I cannot find any information on what i'm doing wrong.

Many thanks,

~Storm

No where above, have you actually mentioned how you got your save file, and how you inject your save back into the game.

For starters, follow either one of the guides in the link: https://projectpokemon.org/tutorials/save-editing/managing-3ds-saves/

If the changes between save files can be compared on PKHeX, then that means you're likely not importing the save back into your game correctly.
(So your title is incorrect; it's not PKHeX, it's you :/ )

Try out the guide first. If it doesn't work, tell us what save manager you're using.

I downloaded JKSM and reattempted the transfer of the three pokemon. I was using a program called save_editor before. Anyway, it's how exactly I save that's confusing me, not the program. The guide showed how to install it, but not how to save it. Here is the method of how I am saving:
Set pokemon into box
Export SAV
Export Main
Overwrite Main
Close PkHex