Why isn't my Pokegen generating Shinies?

iheartmytepig

Hi, I'm fairly new to Pokegen and this particular Forum, and my Pokegen doesn't seem to be working properly.

What happened was I was 1 Pokemon away from completing my Unova Dex, and so instead of going to capture/breed one, I was lazy and decided to Pokegen it. The Pokemon was a Rufflet, as sad as that may seem. Well, I've gotten pretty good with Pokegen and such, and I also use PokeGTS, if that's any help. I've used Pokegen several times before and it's generated Shinies, no problem, but with my Rufflet, it for some oddity didn't. I'm wondering if it was because I made him hatch from an Egg at level 100, with a full set of Moves, or is it something different? He doesn't have the Pokerus, or illegal Moves, or illegal Trait, or anything illegal at all. Except for the fact he hatched at level 100, and was holding an item. Is this why he wasn't Shiny? Did the game see that he wasn't legal?

Thanks!

*~Iheartmytepig~*

Edited by iheartmytepig

A Pokemon's "Shiny" status is directly generated by the PID# and nothing else about the Pokemon will affect whether or not your Pokemon is shiny. All it means is the PID that Pokegen auto-generated for your Pokemon was not a shiny PID.

In order for you to get a "Shiny PID" certain things must be entered.

1. Under tab 5 (OT/Misc) you must insure that the 2 ID numbers are correct. The first # is your Trainer ID (TID) which can be found on your trainer card in-game. The 2nd # is your Secret (SID) which can't be obtained via normal means. To get your Secret ID I recommend using Pokecheck.org which is a GTS Legality checker. Follow the instruction there to upload a Pokemon you caught or bred (not traded for) in your game (this is not an actual upload, just a data copy, the Pokemon never leaves your game) and you will see your SID.

2. Under tab 1 (Main) next to the PID Line click the 'F' button