Pokemon Mystery Dungeon 2 - Psy_commando's Tools and research notes

Hi ! I'm fairly new around here, and I'm relatively new to rom hacking and to the NDS scene in general, but I'm working on several little projects for Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Sky / Time / Darkness, and I thought it would nice to share it with others ! Especially with others with more technical knowledge than I ! :XD:

I hope this will be useful ! :biggrin:

And be sure to report any bugs, or tidbits of information you have ! Those would prove invaluable !

Feel free to mention whether it worked for you, or not so much ! Any feedback is always great !

You might need 7zip or another 7z compatible program to open the compressed files on this page.

Looking for:

- Need people to write tutorials for some of the tools !
- Need feedback on the tools! 
- Need people to discover what some of the "unk" variables in the character sprites do !
- Need info on the NDS's DSP.

The Tools:

Compression/Decompression:

PPMD UnPX

• Description: A quick little implementation of a "PX" compressed data decompressor. Its based on Zhorken's Python script for decompressing the character portraits, which happened to be stored as compressed "PX" files ! Just feed it an AT4PX or PKDPX file by drag and dropping, or use the command line argument for specifying the input file and output folder. The result will have an extension appended, or not, depending on whether its currently possible to guess the content. Again, many thanks to Zhorken for finding out about the compression scheme !
  • Donwload: Version 0.41 : ppmd_unpx_0_41.zip on Github

PPMD DoPX

• Description: A compressor to compress files back into PX compressed files, either PKDPX or AT4PX files. Its still pretty new and experimental, so, watch out for bugs ! By default anything compressed is outputed to a PKDPX. To output to a AT4PX, the output filename has to be specified and to end with ".at4px" !